It Is Already Within You

The Daily Laws, Day 4/365

Taylor Ellison
2 min readJan 5, 2022

The Daily Laws, by Robert Greene

January 4, It is Already within You.

“Sooner or later something seems to call to us on a particular path. You may remember this something as a signal calling in childhood when an urge out of nowhere, a fascination, a particular turn of events struck like an annunciation: This is what I must do, this is what I’ve got to have. This is who I am.” — James Hellman

Daily Law: Ask someone who recalls your childhood what they remember about your interests. Get acquainted with those early passions.

Personal reflection: Day four and I am feeling like this experience might be more negative than positive. Robert Greene has been a writer that has inspired me to think deeper over the years. The 48 Laws of Power is used at my house about as frequently as the Holy Bible at my grandmother’s. Erik, a long-time colleague gifted me with The 48 Laws of Power and I’ve paid it forward to those I love and cherish. In short, I am a huge fan of Robert Greene’s work and yet, The Daily Laws, days one through four have fallen short. The purpose of writing each day was to challenge myself to deeper thinking, daily writing, increasing my readership and to practice bravery by sharing my story. If I am being really honest with myself, I am taking baby steps…

--

--

Taylor Ellison

Happily divorced, single mom, reviewing books and managing a Bookstagram account as if people actually care about what I have to say. Posting weekly.